facebook pixel

Medical Improvement Expected (MIE)

If your disability application is approved, the Social Security Administration (SSA) will place you in one of three categories:

  • Medical Improvement Expected (MIE)
  • Medical Improvement Possible (MIP)
  • Medical Improvement Not Expected (MINE)

MIE group cases are scheduled for continuing eligibility reviews within 6 to 18 months after approval. In case your condition is found not to have improved and remains in the MIE group, you then will continue receiving benefits for an extra 6 to 18 months. Should your condition worsen, it can be moved into the MIP or MINE categories. MIP reviews are scheduled after every 3 years, while MINE reviews happen after 7 years.

Need help applying for SSDI?

Brown & Brown can help you better understand and take advantage of the many benefits of Social Security Disability, to help maximize your financial well-being during your period of disability.

Get a Free Evaluation